Home

It’s so important to start each day by stopping my brain.  Reason being, my brain always gets up before me.  It’s brewing coffee while I’m coming down off my R.E.M.  It’s going through last night’s notes. It’s tapping into unresolved issues and fears and resentments and frying them up on the griddle.  It’s a transition, going from asleep to awake.  It’s change.  Something I don’t handle all that well.  That’s why I stay up late.

Step 3:  made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God, as we understood Him.

And it’s got to be first thing in the morning. It can’t be while I’m getting dressed, letting the cat out, or during my commute. By that time the eggs are cold and the coffee is eating my stomach.

Not stopping myself first thing in the morning is old thinking;, old rationale.  Why do I need to do something first thing in the morning? Nothing’s gone wrong yet.

Oh, so that’s how it is?  I’m back to foxhole prayers?  And not big fox holes, either.  Does praying for a green light count?  It’s like I’m embarrassed to be seen with my higher power.  Asking God for help is like going clothes shopping with my mom back when I was 14.  I mean, I’m a grown-up now, correct?  Time to put away childish things, like asking for help from the all-being master of time, space and dimension.  Better to put everything in my own hands, because we all know how well that works out.

Today:  Lose the “I can take it from here” attitude.

2 thoughts on “get over easy.

  1. Asking anybody for help is progress for many of us afflicted with terminal self-sufficiency (self will run riot). Sort of like step 5, including another human being in has a way of letting our HP help us too. Good thoughts for today. Thank you.

  2. Pingback: Addiction Blog RoundUp - 12/19/14

Leave a comment